Capitol K-9 Unit , Book 6
Harlequin Love Inspired Suspense
ISBN: 978-0373-446/84-1
August 2015
Romantic Suspense

Present Day Washington, D.C. and Environs

It has been months now since Congressman Harland Jeffries's son Michael was murdered and the congressman wounded. Senator Eagleton's daughter Erin has been on the run ever since. She's gone from being wanted as a possible witness to being a prime suspect. Erin and Michael had been good friends. She saw him being shot and tried to help him, but soon she, herself, was in danger. She managed to escape but she must stay on the move…someone is after her.

Actually, many are looking for her, including the Capitol K-9 Unit that has been in on the case from the very beginning. One of its officers, Chase Zachary, an old high school sweetheart of Erin's, believes she is being framed and wants to be the first to find her and help prove her innocence. Find her he does, in a woody section of rural Virginia…he and his K-9 partner, a search and rescue trained Belgian Malinois named Valor. Now Chase must keep Erin safe from a killer while they find the truth. By this time, it seems Jeffries is not an innocent victim in all the recent happenings in the area.

In the five preceding Capitol K-9 Unit books, several suspenseful plot lines have been brought to happy conclusions—with five romances starring other humans from the K-9 unit. But this thread of the murder runs through them all tying them together. In PROOF OF INNOCENCE, all is finally happily solved.

The whole series is a fun one and very well done considering the coordination that must have been necessary for the six separate authors of the six titles. The characters in each stand out as individuals; even the dogs have personalities. The series started in March with Shirlee McCoy's PROTECTION DETAIL and continued on with April's DUTY BOUND GUARDIAN by Terri Reed, May's TRAIL OF EVIDENCE by Lynette Eason, June's SECURITY BREACH by Margaret Daley, July's DETECTING DANGER by Valerie Hansen, and finishes with this month's PROOF OF INOCENCE. Though each can stand alone, I recommend reading them all in order.

Jane Bowers