DARK WITCH - Nora Roberts
The Cousins O'Dwyer Trilogy, Book 1
Berkley (Trade Paperback)
ISBN: 978-0-425-25985-6
November 2013
Paranormal Romance

County Mayo, Ireland - Present Day

Over seven hundred and fifty years ago, Sorcha, the first Dark Witch, sacrificed herself to save her three children from the sorcerer, Cabhan.  She gave her powers to the children, and intended for Cabhan to not survive the night, but somehow he did.  As the years passed, the descendants of Sorcha have had her gifts, and have lived with the knowledge that one day, Cabhan will return, and “the three” will have to battle him as Sorcha once did.

Iona Sheehan has always felt out of step with her life; her affinity for horses and her grandmother, Nan, the only things that ever felt right.  So when Nan tells her the history of the dark witch, Iona knows she has to travel to Ireland.  From the moment she arrives, Iona feels as if she's come home, and her introduction to her cousin, Branna O'Dwyer, only makes her feel more welcome.  Before her week is over, Iona has already moved in with her cousins, has a job at the local stable, and a definite interest in one of the stable's owners, Boyle McGrath.  She's also tangled a time or two with Cabhan, and knows that, as one of “the three” and a Dark Witch, there is no going back to her old life, even if she wanted to.

DARK WITCH sets the stage for the Cousins O'Dwyer trilogy, and it's a beautiful and exciting stage.  Iona grew up with indifferent parents and a mother who had closed her mind to magick.  Only her Grandmother, Nan, supported her, and when Iona started dreaming of a man who wants to kill her, Nan explained their family history.  She's pretty new to magick, but when she arrives, Branna knows that it has started; she, Iona and Connor (Branna's brother) will be “the three” to face Cabhan.  Branna becomes a guide for Iona as she practices her magick and learns what she is capable of, but it is the friendships that take root that truly impress her.  Iona's new job brings her into contact with Meara Quinn, Branna's best friend; Boyle, whom Iona quickly develops romantic feelings for, and finally Finbar Burke, co-owner of the stable and a descendant of Cabhan.  It's not long before they realize it's not just the three, but the six of them that will be needed to defeat Cabhan.

A blend of family, love, and suspense, DARK WITCH is a fascinating start to the series, and a book that will keep you spellbound.

Jennifer Bishop